Generic CG125 parts

Ian Frog

Go to solution Solved by onesea,

Guys

I will throw this open as I have zero experience of generic parts for small bikes.

I notice a number of sellers on the bay offering what I presume to be Chinese carbs aimed at small Hondas.

I will have soon a 2006 CG125 and as it has undoubtedly stood for a long time it has carb related issues.

Is it worth my while getting said new carb or go down the rebuild kit and cleaning route?

There is very little financial difference either way.

Cheers

Ian

23 minutes ago, MikeHorton said:

Watched an Allen Millyard rebuild he went for rhe Chinese option and didn't need to make any adjustments, he seems to know his onions. I don't think either way would cause any issues 

That is good to know.

Cheers

Ian

• Solution
On 01/02/2023 at 15:37, Ian Frog said:

Ball well and truly back in my court.

I am collecting it over the weekend I think I will unbolt it and have a peek in the float bowl first thing.

Cheers

Ian

That would be my choice,

New spark plug (check for spark) if it runs fresh petrol, additive (outboard stuff) and ride it. 
If not undo drain screw on carb bowl get clean petrol then try again.

If that fails carb off remove bowl soak in petrol over night, spray with carb cleaner maybe prod/ wipe around a bit gently try again.

Once running get it hot and ride it hard, my belief is petrol dissolves petrol deposits in time. Try it it might surprise you.

• Like 1

42 minutes ago, onesea said:

That would be my choice,

New spark plug (check for spark) if it runs fresh petrol, additive (outboard stuff) and ride it. 
If not undo drain screw on carb bowl get clean petrol then try again.

If that fails carb off remove bowl soak in petrol over night, spray with carb cleaner maybe prod/ wipe around a bit gently try again.

Once running get it hot and ride it hard, my belief is petrol dissolves petrol deposits in time. Try it it might surprise you.