Re-newbie

Lateralus

Hi all. At what point does a lapsed member become a newbie again?!

I've been riding for nearly 5 years now, and had some phenomenal help from here when first getting started. Indeed, I still have the toolkit I received from TMBF secret Santa!

I've owned a Honda CBF600S, Triumph Tiger 1050 Sport, and spent the last 3 years on a 2010 R1200RT which is used daily for commuting (and occasionally even for recreational rides and touring!). 

Competent as the RT is, it's not the most exciting of bikes, and a recent house move means my new commute takes me the full length of Nottingham's ring road twice a day, where the boat-sized dimensions mean I often get stuck much earlier than smaller bikes. As such, I now find myself actively investigating a Honda VFR1200F which is for sale locally! It has a large top-box, shaft drive and (hopefully) reasonable weather protection, and is much narrower, so ticks all the practicality boxes. 

Completely unrelated to a recent spin on a mate's KTM 1290 Adventure S, the VFR also has 160bhp, neither of which are in any way related to the fact that I'm now bike shopping!

Anyway, hello again!

• Like 3

Hi @Lateralus welcome back and good to see you about again 

If you are finding the RT boring you're doing it wrong :lol: 

I have recently got a 2016 RT and find it pretty entertaining :D 

I am with you on the filtering lark though! not the best choice of bike for commuting through traffic 

1 hour ago, Stu said:

Hi @Lateralus welcome back and good to see you about again 

If you are finding the RT boring you're doing it wrong :lol: 

I have recently got a 2016 RT and find it pretty entertaining :D 

I am with you on the filtering lark though! not the best choice of bike for commuting through traffic