Samsung Galaxy Tab Active 3 as a satnav on a BMW R1250GS

So I've been using a Garmin Zumo XT for the last 2 years and although I like it there's been some updates of late that seem to have had some stange routing quirks. Several people myself included are getting some weird U-turn behaviour and routing anomalies which can't be explained away purely by user error.

Anyway, I often use my phone on a QuadLock mount so I can use Waze/Google Maps and also MyRouteApp and on my last tour I found MRA to be more reliable at staying on the route than the XT did which got me thinking, then stumbled across an app called DriveModeDashboard 2 by a company called Thork Racing, which although geared towards offroad riding made me wonder if a tablet would be a better solution.

I couldn't justify the cost of their tablet especially as I didn't know if I'd like it so I opted for something middle of the road, which was a Galaxy Tab Active 3 in a powered pogo pin RAM mount. Anyway, I'm extremely pleased with it so far as it's proven excellent, but I'm yet to test it in extreme rain or heat so time will tell obviously.

I did an install video if anyone is interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2B97hQC2uw

• Like 1

Waze is fun looking and has some interesting features like constant updates from other users of problems like traffic etc but Holy moly it doesn't half take you down some weird and pretty sketchy single track route 😱😰 if it gets the chance... sure the AI is a crude sense of humour.

Also sometimes thinks your an Alzheimer infested goldfish needing telling more than three times before you get to the junction and a few more while manoeuvring it..😡.

putting in stops or very specific directions are not easy to do.

favourites to give instructions are master chief 😎 which the new update ads some amusing quets, The other is red raggle...watch out for Gourds!!😏