lots of advice questions for new bike rider

panaromabel

I'm new to bike riding at the age of 51. ! I never thought i would be on a bike. I only have a 110cc Honda vision which I love. I did come off the bike once but I was virtually stationary, (slipped on horse poo) I just locked the back wheel and it slipped under me so I just fell sideways, but it was still enough to knock my confidences a bit, but I understand the science behind why that happened so I have now got confidence back in the bike.   but It has come to a point where I need to venture onto a 4 lane A road. (no choice here I have tried all manner of different routes and this is the only option with a motor scooter) (the A2) I only have to be on there for one junction so less than a mile. but the fastest I have ever gone is 40mph and then only for a few seconds as most of my riding is on country lanes, so not had the need to go any faster.  My first problem is I think the fear of speed, but then I think it might be the worry of coming down a slip road and no body letting me in and the slip road running out. !! does this happen?   (my head is terrible sometimes for thinking every possible scenario before I have even done anything!! ).  I don't think I would have a problem with the acceleration as the wider and open a road the fear goes away. but I feel like I will be going out with the big boys and something in me just keeps worrying about getting into the traffic at the correct speed, having never done 50 before. what I need advise for really is am I over thinking it? how easy is it to just go for it and not worry,  any tips please to help me get the courage to go for it. It's just that thought of the first time. how do you know you can do something until you do it !!. what if I have to stay at 45 as I just cannot bring myself to go faster. I'm then worried I will annoy others and they toot at me or shout, that will make me worse. .. obviously I will not be leaving the left hand lane as the slip road o