What to look out for on buying a bike?

Ellyt247

As a complete newbie, with no experience, licence, gear or a bike I have little to no grasp on the key things to look out for when I eventually buy a bike.

Other than my preferences for the bike e.g. look, cost, resale value (as I will most likely get a 125 1st and get use to riding then sell on) etc, I have no idea on what to look out for. 

Whether I buy from an online auction, private or trader, what should be the important things I need to know to ensure I get a fairly decent bike.

Thanks in advance

If you buy a 125 in good condition with reasonable miles on it you should get back what you paid, there is always demand for 125's

Do you have any biker friends to go with you to look at them.

What's your budget and what do you like the look of.

5 hours ago, Bender said:

If you buy a 125 in good condition with reasonable miles on it you should get back what you paid, there is always demand for 125's

Do you have any biker friends to go with you to look at them.

What's your budget and what do you like the look of.

No, pretty much a loner. Don't have any biker friends.

Not knowing much about the biker market though, I wouldn't really know what is reasonable miles and what isn't. Also, when looking at bikes, is there anything else I need to consider? E.g. mechanically, history, paperwork etc?

I would go second hand Japanese - Suzuki Yamaha, Honda, Kawasaki.

They tend to hold value well.

High mileage i would say is over 15-20k. They can go allot further, however 125s generally change hands then end up in hands of idiot and end up written off.

However maintenance is every thing so yes papers.  

Mechanicaly sound, matching key locks often a big clue. History and trustworthy seller are important.

Buy the right bike clean it  sell on in  the spring you can make money.

Buy ing a 125 from dealer is challenging, they want top money or to sell new.