What is the wisest route to take when learning to ride?

Hello,

I've been stuck between two options for quite a while now and I would love to have some advice.

I am new to riding and would like to know the best/ smartest course of action to become a good rider. I am 19 so I have two routes. Do my CBT, buy a 125cc and gain some road experience for a few months until I have enough money to fund lessons or courses towards my A2 license. Alternatively, I can skip on the 125cc and spend that money on an intense course going straight for my A2 test. I have the money to do either one  but not for both of them so what would be the wisest route?

Need some advice from experienced riders or riders who have been in the same position as me before.

Thanks a lot!

Go with option 1.

You're young and plenty of time to learn how to ride properly if you're wise and don't start trying to go faster than Rossi.

Experience and caution will take you far and safe.

Keep in mind that you still have to deal with insurance costs that will be cheaper on option 1.

I do believe maintenance on a 125 is cheaper than the 4 stroke counter parts.

Having said that, I'm sure I will be contradicted 1000 times by bikers that have/had 125s 

• Like 1

Thanks for your advice, I've seen so many contradicting advices online some people saying 125 experience is essential and others saying just don't waste time and go for the A2 without picking up bad habits from riding 125 etc.

what would be the most appropriate 125cc to start off with? From my own research Honda CB125F, YBR and YZF seemed like a good bike for practice. 

I'm a honda man and don't think about changing it. :) 

I never had a 125 so I'm not the best person to advise you on that.

Over to you guys :thumb: 

Either way has advantages but the quickest way to start on 2 wheels is the CBT and a 125. Make sure you get a Japanese one and avoid Chinese like the plague. 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, S-Westerly said: