Change your helmet after 5 years ....... why?

Pbassred

Why? seriously, What happens after 5 years? Why 5? not 4 or 6? Is it miles dependent? or actual time? What causes it? what gives out?  Is this marketing or in there any hard science?  As a Manufacturing Engineer I have come across a wide range of materials and I can't come up with a logic that explains it. 

Motorcycles magazines and web sites seem to quote each other as an established fact, but attempts to explain it are a bit of a stretch.  "Its to do wit hair oils", or "UV light" or the best one:- " Every time you put it on you stretch it a bit".

There have been Fiberglass powerboats for 50 years. Carbonfibre composites have been used in aircraft for nearly as long. Both of those live in more harsh environments than a Shoei bucket.  What about the EPS or as we used to call it polystyrene foam? This stuff is hated by the environmental lobby because it NEVER breaks down.

This is not about being cheap or about denying that technology upgrades with time.  If I spend £500 on a lid is it really trash in 5 years? Could I spend that money on other safety upgrades?  If they don't really degrade, is it all a scam and we are throwing helmets into landfill? If the helmet companies were taxed on that they would probably be motivated to find a solution.

Edited by Pbassred

I don't know the answer but the padding in my wife's helmet started to fall apart after 30 years so she had to buy a new one. It had been sitting in a cupboard for ages, so not affected by UV light.

I only change mine when there is a good reason. My latest change was to get a flip-front, not due to the old one being 15 years old.

• Like 1

I suspect the "5 year rule" is based on typical use fatiguing tests on the shell. I've got a lid that must be approaching 20 years old that I would wear as it's spent most of it's life in a wardrobe. I think my current one is 6 or 7 years old and I have no concerns.